Monday, 1 November 2021

Blitz: The Darkest Vampire by Juliana Haygert (Rite World: Vampire Wars, #1) + Giveaway!


Second promo post in a row - sorry about that - but I couldn't resist the sound of this book!
It's been a while since I've read an UF with a witch/vampire dynamic and this one sounds like it just might tick my boxes! Plus, I love the cover... So, I share. *shrug*

The author is also having an epic giveaway with prizes including a Kindle Fire so it's definitely worth continuing to scroll and check out the book!



Supernaturals around Portland are turning up dead. I’m next … if the vampire I just made a powerful bond with doesn’t kill me first. 

Magic is in a short supply for a half-witch like me, which makes things very difficult when I’m bound by a blood promise to avenge my parents.

With no leads left to follow, I make a bargain with a demon for help. Bad decision. The quest the demon sends me on binds me to a vampire named Killian, a half-mad, half-naked monster who hates my guts almost as much as he longs to drink my blood.

Killian swore to kill all witches on sight, but we agree to work together to solve the murders ravaging the city. He despises me, and I can’t stand him… but there’s an unexpected connection between us, something I can’t help but be curious about.

No, I can’t let anything distract me. Not even a hot and enraging vampire who presses all of my freaking buttons. I’m determined to find my parents’ killers, and stop the chaos taking over the supernatural world.

If only love didn’t get in the way.

A delicious slow-burn enemies to lovers novel, The Darkest Vampire is a new adult urban fantasy that’s full of dark romance, adventure, and twists you won’t see coming. Fans of Linsey Hall, Leia Stone, and Jaymin Eve are going to become obsessed with this brand-new paranormal series by Juliana Haygert!



The smoke disappeared and I gasped as I took the figure in—a man. A half-naked, half-mad man, with murder written all over his face. He was large, with wide shoulders and very ripped arms, rags for clothes, and an attack stance.

“What—?”

I didn’t have time to say or ask anything.

The man moved like the wind. In a flash, he had his hand around my throat and my back pressed against the bookshelf. Panic laced its way around my spine as I fought his steel-like grip, my legs dangling and my feet off the ground. My flashlight slipped from my hand.

“H—“ I tried telling him to stop, to listen, but my voice wouldn’t come out.

He snarled at me and in the near dark, all I could see were the dark veins around his dark eyes and his fangs—two long fangs. Holy shit, he was a vampire. The panic tightened around me. I had never seen a vampire before but I had heard they were fast and vicious and dangerous.

The vampire’s gaze fell to my neck.

Oh, shit.

I swung my legs and kicked him in the thigh—or at least, I tried to. He probably felt nothing more than a scratch. But it had been enough to take his attention from my neck. His eyes locked on mine as he snarled again.

Then, as quickly as he came, he backed off.

My feet hit the floor with such impact, I thought I would kiss the carpet, but I was able to hold on to the bookshelf and stay upright. My lungs screamed as I inhaled deeply.

I grabbed the dagger from inside my boot and pointed at the vampire. “Stay where you are or I’ll use this.” I was sure I couldn’t really hurt him if he didn’t allow me, but it was all I could do not to panic some more.

The vampire took two slow steps back, his eyes wide, his hand over his heart. “It’s you,” he rasped.





While Juliana Haygert dreams of being Wonder Woman, Buffy, or a blood elf shadow priest, she settles for the less exciting--but equally gratifying--life of a wife, mother, and author. She resides in North Carolina and spends her days writing about kick-ass heroines and the heroes who drive them crazy.


Subscribe to Juliana's newsletter if you don't want to miss news and updates!


 

4 comments:

  1. You're talking my language. lol That definitely sounds like my kind of book.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like the witch/vampire combo! All kinds of good stuff could come from a pairing like that. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I do enjoy UF! I need a new series to get through. I'll check this one out. :)

    ReplyDelete